David Mitchell is a writer who GETS TO WORK, dammit.

INTERVIEWER

Do you have any form of ritual preparation before writing?

DAVID MITCHELL

Absolutely not. I can write pretty much anywhere. If I’m in a loud place where I know the language, then I can’t write, but generally the universe needs to contrive circumstances to stop me writing, rather than contrive ones to allow me to write. But I am happiest in my hut in County Cork, with a pot of green tea and a large, uncluttered table. 

INTERVIEWER

If you’re in your hut with your teapot and cup, are you writing on your laptop, or longhand? 

MITCHELL

I do my thinking on paper, and act on my thinking on the laptop. 

from a glorious interview with novelist David Mitchell in Paris Review. 
Leave a Reply

